The Museum of Icons of Venice is located in Castello, and it is run by the Hellenic Institute. It was set up in 1959, and its chief collection consists of icons created between the 14th and the 18th century by artists raised within the Greek, Cretan and Veneto schools. The collection was gathered by grace of the artists themselves or of keen collectors who, at their turn, gathered the works in the course of history.

The highlights of the superb icon collection refer to works by Theodoros Pulakis, Emmanuel Tzanes Bounialis, Emmanuel Lambardos, Michele Damaskinos and Georgios Klontzas, complemented by ancient icons dating back to the time of the Byzantine Empire. The icons, however, are just a part of the museum patrimony. Thus, visitors can also admire plenty of ancient vestments, craftsmanship products and manuscripts related to the history of the orthodox confession.

Museum of Icons (Museo delle Icone / Museo Dipinti Sacri Bizantini)
3412, Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122, Venice, Italy
0039 041 5226581
0039 041 5238248
[email protected]
Go to top